Cycling vs Running for Time-limited Base?

Hey all,

If you are on a limited time budget, with say 6 hours per week available on average, would your cycling fitness be better spent building base while cycling or running? I’m curious here because runners typically train less volume than cyclists because of the impact but runners still get very fit. For this scenario, I am thinking of only running for base season (3-4 months in the winter, block one) and then transitioning to some long intervals on the bike with Z1 training through running (two months, block 2) before going to hard intervals and only cycling (block three in the summer)

Here is my background and rationale:
I am primarily a cyclist, mostly riding mountain bikes with friends, road/gravel for fitness, and cyclocross races in the fall. I am relatively new to running but have picked up the pace since the pandemic began since most of our local trails were shut down and then they became too busy for a while. I want to train more just to see how far I can push myself, especially with cyclocross since I am usually toward the front of the pack when riding MTB with friends. Most of my rides are under 2 hours and rarely go over 3, and I ride 3-5 times a week and average 7 hours per week in the summer. I live in Canada where winters can get cold enough that my best gloves and sock/shoe covers can’t keep me warm enough if I try to do base training outside, and I don’t have the mental fortitude or backside to do big rides on a trainer indoors either.