What's in your bottle?

I’m a newbie who is starting to explore my on-bike fuel options. How new? I used to think Gatorade was advanced.

Right now I’m using Crank Sports E-Fuel on my long rides. The reason I chose it was because it has a lower amount of sugar vs. complex carbohydrates (maltodextrin) (30/70) and includes electrolytes. I’d love to know what others are relying on and your thought process.

If you can explain it to me like I’m a third grader that would be very helpful. My degree is in accounting and not sports nutrition and big words scare me.

Thank you. I appreciate your insight.

1 Like

3 or 4 scoops of Tailwind.

I used to be sort of stingy with it and would do some bottles that were just a scoop or two plus bottles that were just electrolyte but the fact is, even an endurance ride where you push it even the tiniest bit on hills can be upwards of 600 or 700 KJ an hour and i just feel a lot better and recover a lot better when i fuel more. So now i do a fairly strong mix even on easier rides.

I’m sure crank sports would be just as good as tailwind, and these two are probably only very marginally better than gatorade, when you’re not in teh world tour i think it mostly comes down to preference.

And note, any time that Limon Pepino gatorade is available, it will 100% be my jam

1 Like

Welcome to the community, @etaylor336! I want to quote/highlight your comment in your original post about exploring on-bike fuel and thinking about what’s basic vs. advanced. I’ve been in this field for nearly 20 years, and one thing that has stuck in that time is that nutrition doesn’t have to be complex to work. When I see a distinction between Gatorade and advanced products, there’s honestly very little difference to me. Is Gatorade advanced? Nope…but, does it have to be? Also “nope.” @BikerBocker said it really well too in his reply. There’s usually very little need to do anything super advanced when it comes to nutrition for the vast majority of us athletes.