Self coached nurse working erratic schedule, pointers and experience welcome!

Hey all I’m a cat 5 cyclist and my goal for this season is be competitive in a few local road races and not get dropped from the field and to bike the 200 on 100 in Vermont. I don’t have a coach and I work as a nurse doing rotating shifts and work 13-14 hour shifts 3x a week. so i really can only manage training 4x a week. my typical training time has been 8-10 hours a week and managed to get 7000 miles in my legs in 2021. My thoughts are for the base season splitting up my days as either hard or endurance days. with say intervals i.e 4x8 or 5x5 one day fallowed by a 3-6hr ride (depending on fatigue the next day and repeating that sequence for a few months mixed in with XC skate skiing. my schedule is erratic and as a travel nurse I have no say in my schedule. I like many people probably overthink training so any pointers or wisdom are greatly appreciated.

1 Like