Carb-drinks and gut health

Hello everyone, long time listener here and appreciate the great content!

With more and more studies showing a negative effect of maltodextrin on gut microbiome and health, I’m wondering if other types of carbs are a better alternative in that regard. Such as dextrose, fructose or highly branched cyclic dextrin.

To give you some background on my motivation: I got diagnosed with mild Colitis in early 2021. The first symptoms were the worst and since then, only mild flare ups. But still, it’s not something you want to get out of control, especially as I have been paying good attention to my diet for a few years now. I eat a balanced whole food diet, with 95% of meals cooked at home with attention to quality.

Coincidentally or not, I bought the first batch of maltodextrin two months before that. I also noticed a very strong correlation between times of heavier consumption (50-60g daily) and flare ups.
With data emerging, I’m obviously looking for better alternatives. I’m okay with sacrificing a few percent of performance.

Is there anything known about the effects of other carbs such as dextrose, fructose or highly branched cyclic dextrin on gut health? @trevor any experience with that?

Many thanks!

To my understandment you can train your gut to handle things better, you just need to add it little by little. Asker Jeukendrup has talked about it, so that’s one direction where i could point you at.

Different carb supplements might work better for you. I don’t know if there is clear difference between them or if it’s individual how people can handle them.

Yes, probably. But I don’t want to keep doing something that is clearly bad for my health.
We have only recently started to understand how important a well functioning gut microbiome is.

Anyway, I ordered some Cluster Dextrin. Let’s see how that goes.
Not much data on that stuff.

HI @nieroc,