A case for 120/g hr....and Gut Training

https://glut4science.com/publicaciones/entrenamiento-nutricional/120-grams-carbohydrates-per-hour-during-exercise-improve-recovery/100

a case against itā€¦ https://www.frontiersin.org/articles/10.3389/fphys.2023.1150265/full

Itā€™s good to read contrasting research.

Here is another one from Frontier in favor of LCHF diets, but this was done on short, high intensity efforts, not a 3-5 hour ride.
https://www.frontiersin.org/articles/10.3389/fnut.2023.1084021/full

The one you noted was on 6 x 800 meter running intervals, not hours-long rides, but there may be research on LCHF for long endurance rides, too. And the LCHF in the context of pre-exericise diets, not while riding/running, so it is not an apple to apples comparison.

Which does not mean that LCHF is not the best everyday diet, Trevor and Dr. IƱigo were discussing eating sensibly between workouts, not loading up on carbs habitually. The research I brought up, and I am not an expert on this, is specific to carbs during exercise, not a high carb lifestyle diet.

Thatā€™s an amazing study. Thanks for forwarding. 31 days of high or low carb diets, calorie balanced, and monitored using CGMs. WOW! Love how it busts the myth that you need high carbs for high intensity intensity performance. Both diets worked deliver 1 mile running performance (~6 min all out). Even a trend for fat group going faster.

But yes, to your point, youā€™re interested in the consumption of 120g/h of carbs over 3-5 h rides and how that can be achieved using multiple transportable carbohydrates (fructose/glucose blends). While this certainly can be accomplished, in my experience this high rate can also contribute to GI issues (gas, bloating due to the required fermentation process for digestion), especially in the older athlete.