Whoop 3.0 Question

I know coach @trevor really likes Whoop but reading DC Rainmaker review really made me question the accuracy of the information being provided by the device.

https://www.dcrainmaker.com/2020/05/whoop-3-platform-review.html

If the HR Optical sensor is not accurate, when doing exercise as reported by DC Rainmaker, then whole strain/recovery metric provided by the device is wrong.

I was really interested in the device but now I just can’t convince myself to spend $300 on something that it is not accurate in the first place.

Alex, thank you for your post! This is a great topic. I actually started using the Whoop since taking on the Head Coach role here at Fast Talk Labs and wanted to give it a good time frame before making any assessments. I’ve been wearing it 24/7 for a couple months now, alongside my Apple Watch (which I don’t use for workout tracking) and my Wahoo TICKR heart rate monitor (which I’ve been using religiously for years).

I think DC’s feedback is spot on. I’ve noticed that there are some large discrepancies with the Strain value and how HR is assessed throughout the day. Because of that monitoring, I won’t rely on it for HR analysis - sometimes it tracks closely, other times it’s way off. For sleep, very much the same. It shows some poor sleep values whereas my Apple Watch (with more optical sensors) shows some vastly different numbers.

I did speak with one of the Whoop customer support folks because of some strange HR values. The solution was to tighten the strap on my wrist. However, this became painful as it was too tight and I was starting to feel some carpel tunnel syndrome from this. The only other option was to move it to the biceps, but I’m not going to wear a strap around my biceps all day.