What does 'max reps' actually mean (episode 211 Dr. Rønnestad)

Hi all, long time listener but new member here. I really enjoyed episode 211 with Dr. Rønnestad “Does Strength Training Hurt or Help Endurance Sports Performance?”. I’ve been lifting during the off-season for many years and lifting year-round over the last two years. My anecdotal evidence as a middle-aged athlete is, I am stronger, faster on the bike, and also more resistant to cycling injuries. This has been true only if I lift year round. If I just lift in the off-season I seem to lose the gains pretty fast during the summer – those gains don’t last unless I lift year-round.

One question though – I’m wondering what “four to ten max reps” really means? Does it mean absolute all-out gonna die if I try to do another rep, or something slightly less dramatic. I ask because my experience is, I was a lot more prone to injuries when going all-out on the last rep when lifting heavy with low reps, which I used to do. Now I leave maybe one or two more reps in the tank and also somewhat lower weights, for 7-10 reps. The last couple of reps are still really hard but I seem to be much less prone to injury. Thoughts?

@northk, welcome to the forum! Thank you for your question on the podcast. To your question, I want to clarify what I heard on the podcast with regard to the 4-10 rep maximum. What I’m hearing there is the recommendation for athletes to do a range of between 4-rep max to 10-rep max.

“Rep Maximum” is the maximum amount you can lift for that number of reps, so 4-rep max is the maximum weight you can lift without rest for 4 repetitions. It’s important to clarify this because this could also be interpreted as taking a specific weight and doing somewhere in the 4-10 rep range, which could lead to more potential for injury risk, as you said.