Stimulants and training zones

TLDR: How to deal with training zones and an elevated heart rate due to stimulants?

Hi all,

First time poster here. I’m looking forward to both learning and contributing on this forum.

I’m a former rower turned coach who still likes to be competitive himself (rowing, road cycling and XC MTB)

About two weeks ago I started taking prescription stimulants to deal with ADHD.

One of the side effects is an elevated heart rate, both in rest and during exercise. Underlying and dangerous heart conditions are ruled out.

It’s a time released (12-14h) medicine taken at breakfast. Due to working life and potential trouble sleeping both exercise before taking and taking later are generally out of the question.

That raises several questions.

In what way is this going to influence my training zones?

Should I adjust my heart rate zones according to the new distribution, or (since the muscles and metabolism haven’t changed in any way) stick to the power zones as I established them before (and accept the higher heart rate as a fact)?

I haven’t really tried to reach my maximum heart rate but literature suggests my HRmax hasn’t changed. Does that mean I will produce lower power at HRmax?

And íf I adjust my training zones according to the new heart rate distribution (and as a result will lower my output significantly in the lower zones) won’t that basically make me slower because the muscles aren’t stimulated the way they used to?

I’m aware you can’t give me medical advise, but if you could weigh in from a sports physiology point of view that would be greatly appreciated.

1 Like

Hi @thijs010 ,
Welcome to the forum.

I would ask your doctor how the medicine works (*). That is: does it influence your oxygen uptake, heart rate (as in: directly), oxygen transportation and indirect heart rate effects (what is happening in your body causing the heart rate to rise).

From this information you can conclude what should happen to your training zones.