How does one find a strength training coach?

I’ve been listening to Fast Talk Labs for two years and I became convinced that strength training is a must. I have never lifted weights and I am a little concerned about getting injured. I live in the Metropolitan DC area where one can typically find any service. However, there are a lot of individuals posing as strength coaches, personal trainers, body builders, etc, and they are all trying to sell their services. Its not clear what their level of competence. I have hired one of these coaches three months ago, and regardless of how much I try to emphasize what I need ( specific strength training aimed at improving my cycling,) I keep getting the type of training that is intended to make me bigger. How do I sort through the information zoo? where do I look for some one that can help? what buzwords should I be looking for that will help me decipher the code…

Find someone that is not just a strength and conditioning coach, but someone who is also a therapist, who can prescribe s and c training. Or look for someone who is on this list

https://www.functionalmovement.com/members

When you are new to strength training, the training someone gives you should NOT be for cycling in my opinion. It should be to balance out everything cycling (and life) might be messing up with your body (imbalance).

First strength train to be more athletic, more balance, more injury prevention, better coordination.

All of the above will make you a better cyclist.

Then once you have some years of lifting under your belt, and some cycling specific goals, then maybe you could start to have the strength tailored a little more towards cycling.

Less is more.

Consistency will do wonders.

2 Likes